You are here

Winter Rental: Rockport Seaside Retreat

4 Bedrooms
2 Bathrooms
Sleeps 7
Key
#Night Available#Night Unavailable
#Arrive Only#Depart Only

Location:

Rockport

Bedding:

  • King 1
  • Queen 1
  • Twin 2
  • Sofa Bed 1

Description

This charming home is situated just 300 yards from Whale Cove. Walk just 1 mile to a sandy beach or into the village of Rockport with its shops, restaurants, galleries and a world class Performance Center.

Choose to cook your lobsters in the large, updated eat-in kitchen, which is the center of this home, or bring them back boiled from one of the local markets and eat them on the shady brick patio (both of which have peek-a-boo ocean views). This is a comfortable house that has plenty of places for everyone to gather, including the serene screen porch overlooking the lush backyard and the front farmer's porch where you can watch the world go by. There are also multiple indoor seating areas, making entertaining easy. The first floor also has a single bedroom with an ensuite bathroom with a full bath and shower.

There are 3 bedrooms on the second floor and a new full bath with a shower. The house has beds for 6, but there is a pullout sofa in the living room for the occasional overnight guest. Please note that the stairs to the second floor are original to the home's vintage construction and may be somewhat steep for very small children or those with mobility issues.

Down the lane, just across the street, you are right on the waterfront, which is the perfect place to launch your kayak, or yourself! (Just bring your waterproof shoes, as the waterfront is a bit rocky, but totally safe.) Or if you want to spend the day at a sandy beach, Old Garden Beach (a protected neighborhood beach) is 1 mile toward town, and Cape Hedge Beach is 1.2 miles toward Gloucester.

There is parking for up to 4 cars in front of the house. Come and spend your summer vacation at this Rockport Seaside Retreat!

Amenities

Living

  • Air Conditioning Unit(s)
  • Heat (Off-Season)
  • Pullout Sofa
  • Washer and Dryer
  • Iron
  • Ironing Board
  • Hardwood Floors
  • Carpeting
  • Alarm Clock
  • Dogs allowed (pet fees apply)

Kitchen

  • Refrigerator/Freezer
  • Electric Stove
  • Electric Oven
  • Self Cleaning Oven
  • Microwave
  • Dishwasher
  • Coffee Maker
  • Toaster
  • Blender
  • Cookware
  • Utensils
  • Lobster Pot

Outdoor

  • Enclosed Sun Porch
  • Landscaping Included
  • Patio
  • Screened Area
  • Yard
  • Front Door Two Car Parking
  • Shared Driveway
  • Gas Grill
  • Neighborhood waterfront access
  • Outdoor Furniture

Geographic

  • Access to Public Transportation
  • Seasonal water views
  • Walk to Art Galleries
  • Walk to Beach
  • Walk to Golf Course
  • Walk to Ice Cream Store
  • Walk to Park
  • Walk to Restaurant(s)
  • Walk to Town
  • Walk to Train
  • Walk to Waterfront Public Path
  • Old Garden Beach
  • Walk to Playground
  • Walk to Public Tennis Courts
  • Walk to Performing Arts Center
  • Neighborhood Access to Swimming

Entertainment

  • Flat Screen TV
  • Cable Television
  • High Speed Wireless Internet
  • Radio

What's Included

What does my rented vacation home provide?

Since all Atlantic Vacation Homes rental properties are residential homes, and not hotel rooms, they are all fully furnished and include a living room, kitchen, and bedrooms and bathrooms as described on each property detail page.

  • The kitchen includes cooking utensils, pots & pans, dishcloths, potholders, flatware, dishware, glassware and a corkscrew. Standard appliances include a refrigerator, microwave, stove, toaster, and coffee maker. Some properties are equipped with additional items; please refer to the full amenity list for your specific property. If you require specialty items, such as kitchen scales or food processors, it is best to bring your own.
  • Bed linens and bath linens (bath towels, hand towels and face cloths) are provided in accordance with the advertised occupancy of the property. Beds will be made with linens, pillows, blankets, and bedspreads prior to your arrival, with the exception of trundles, top bunks, futons, and sleep sofas.
  • The property includes basic housekeeping supplies, such as brooms and dustpans.
  • Many (but not all) properties have a landline for local calls. Please refer to the full amenity list for your specific property.
  • Air conditioning, beach towels, hot tubs, TVs, DVD players, porch furniture, grills, docks, recreational games and equipment, and other amenities are furnished as a courtesy by the homeowner and are not guaranteed. Please refer to the full amenity list for your specific property for details.

Guests will also receive a “Welcome Kit” that contains:

  • An area guide
  • One kitchen sponge
  • One small bottle of dish soap
  • One dishwasher detergent pod or packet
  • One laundry detergent pod or packet
  • One trash bag

In addition, the complimentary items below are provided as a convenient starter supply for when you first arrive. Additional items beyond the starter supply are the responsibility of the guest.

  • One full roll of toilet paper per bathroom
  • One box of tissues per bathroom
  • Travel-sized bars of soap in each bathroom
  • One full roll of paper towels in the kitchen

Map

Reviews

Well equipped 4 BR retreat

Reviewed on 2018-09-04 by Unknown of Richmond, VT United States
Updated on 2018-09-04
Review of stay from 2018-08-11 to 2018-08-18
Overall satisfaction
Services from rental manager
Cleanliness
Location
Property condition
Recommend to Others
This house has everything you need, nice screen porch and terrace. Kitchen has all you need to cook including lobster. Lots of room to spread out. Super clean, plenty of towels. AC in 4 BR for humid days. Nicely placed between beaches and town. Patio table needs replacement. Some place to hang a hoodie would be great near the front and the fashionable would love a long mirror.

Review of Rockport Seaside Retreat

Reviewed on 2018-08-08 by Sean S. of Brooklyn, NY United States
Updated on 2018-09-24
Review of stay from 2018-07-14 to 2018-07-21
Overall satisfaction
Services from rental manager
Cleanliness
Location
Property condition
Recommend to Others
This house was very cute, and it has a lot to offer a small family. But it does have several issues that stop me from providing a glowing review.

The Positive:
The house has recently been updated, and so the two bathrooms and the kitchen were new, clean, and very pleasing. The four bedrooms were clean, and the beds themselves were comfortable. Also, the linens were new and fresh. Three special treats of this place were: the kitchen -- a chef's delight; the screened-in porch was heaven after a full day at Good Harbor Beach; and third, the partial view of Whale Cove (and the easy walk to it) were really nice.

The Problems:
This charming house is old, and so it may present an access challenge due to the stairs. The staircase is very steep and hard to navigate, which might present a problem for children and those with mobility issues. "Steep stairs" should be listed in the official description. Many of the glasses, dishes, silverware, and pans were dirty when we arrived (AVH rectified this issue). The cookware and cooking utensils need to be replaced. The pans were warped and the teflon was scratched to the point of flaking off. Other minor problems need work: the grill outside was broken, and the outside table was crumbing. The washing machine and dryer were present, but the closet doors blocked us from using them. The downstairs bathroom window needs a screen (or an exhaust fan). The interior doors in the house were beautiful, but they were antiques and did not close properly. The A/C in the small upstairs bedroom needs to be replaced and the latch on the door needs to be replaced with a standard doorknob. Every bedroom should have a smoke alarm.

The bottom line: would I stay here again? If all the things I mentioned above were fixed: yes! This place has great potential.
Manager response on 2018-09-24 - Response from AVH Realty Inc
We are delighted that overall you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We did try to address your concerns about the dishware and cookware as soon as we were notified. As for the other issues you described, we are sharing your feedback with the homeowner for future improvements. Our property listing does include a call-out for 'steep stairs' in the home. We do, however, appreciate your feedback about the stairs based on your first-hand experience. We do hope that you'll join us in 2019.

Wonderful House!

Reviewed on 2017-08-08 by Nick S. of Pitt Meadows, BC Canada
Updated on 2017-08-08
Review of stay from 2017-07-29 to 2017-08-05
Overall satisfaction
Services from rental manager
Cleanliness
Location
Property condition
Recommend to Others
We had a marvelous time here, charming house

Wonder ful week in Rockport

Reviewed on 2017-07-31 by Charles M. of Worcester, MA United States
Updated on 2017-08-02
Review of stay from 2017-07-22 to 2017-07-29
Overall satisfaction
Services from rental manager
Cleanliness
Location
Property condition
Recommend to Others
Rockport seaside Retreat is are at house... Lea, well situated,comfortable and peaceful location. There are ample places for lounging and the large kitchen is great for food preparation and in house dining. There is a great patio area out back for outside dining with a view of the ocean. It is in an ideal locaion for daily walks... Rockport center is exactly one mile away, very walkable and Heath's Tea Room is just a ten minute walk for a fabulous lunch experience!

Family beach house getaway

Reviewed on 2017-08-22 by Unknown of Bedford Hills, NY United States
Updated on 2017-08-22
Review of stay from 2017-08-12 to 2017-08-19
Overall satisfaction
Services from rental manager
Cleanliness
Location
Property condition
Recommend to Others
Great kitchen backyard and living room layout that allows a family
To spend as much or as little time together as desired

Great vacation experience

Reviewed on 2018-07-31 by Charles M. of Worcester, MA United States
Updated on 2018-09-18
Review of stay from 2018-07-21 to 2018-07-28
Overall satisfaction
Services from rental manager
Cleanliness
Location
Property condition
Recommend to Others
We enjoyed the house that is situated just one mile from the center if Rockport. The main floor has a great large kitchen and dining area with two sitting rooms and a screened in porch and one bedroom and full bathroom. Upstairs has three bedrooms and full bathroom. One of the rooms is quite small but has a comfortable twin bed. The stairway is quite steep for people with limited mobility. The back yard has a gas grill and comfortable table and chairs for outside dining and relaxing.1
Manager response on 2018-09-18 - Response from AVH Realty Inc
Thank you for your 5 star review! We are glad to hear that you had a great vacation experience during your stay in Rockport. We appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts and expereince with us. Hope to see you again in 2019.

"ROCKET ROCKS"

Reviewed on 2017-07-08 by Unknown of LIVONIA, MI United States
Updated on 2017-07-25
Review of stay from 2017-06-18 to 2017-06-25
Overall satisfaction
Services from rental manager
Cleanliness
Location
Property condition
Recommend to Others
AWESOME !!!
Manager response on 2017-07-25 - Response from AVH Realty Inc
Thank you for your review, we are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your time at Rockport Seaside Retreat and look forward to welcoming you back soon!